Please note that some of the links below are affiliate links, and at no additional cost to you, I will earn a commission if you decide to make a purchase.

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

The Sixth Love Language

I've mentioned before that I enjoy receiving Dr. Gary Chapman's newsletter each week. He is the author of the well known book The 5 Love Languages and has a website of the same name (

The five love languages, as defined and described by Dr. Chapman, are:
  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Quality Time
  5. Physical Touch
If you have questions about any (or all) of them check out his website or read his book. It's very insightful stuff.

The other day Cami and I were talking about this and discussing what we think the other's primary "love language" is. We agreed that mine was physical touch. I love massages, back scratches, the kids and Cami "playing" with my hair, hugs, holding hands, etc. 

As we debated what Cami's primary love language was we kept bouncing between them. She loves gifts, especially when it's chocolate. She really enjoys spending time with others, particularly when it involves eating out or snacks. Doing kind things for her, like making dinner or treating her to a special dessert, just make her day. Suddenly we noticed a pattern.

Everything that she really enjoys and appreciates has something in common.

Then we realized it: Cami's love language wasn't one of Dr. Chapman's five. 

We had discovered a new love language! It is the love language of FOOD!

That's right. The way to Cami's heart is through her stomach. Now, typically that is true of most men, but apparently it is true of my wife as well. As we reflected further we came to the additional realization that while food was good, chocolate was better.

I am thankful for this further understanding I now have of my wife and how to make her happy and show her that I love her. I feed her chocolate. I can't believe it took me so long to realize it.

However, I now have a dilemma. Do I tell Dr. Chapman that he's missing a language? :)


  1. bahahahaha. I'm sure you wouldn't be the first to tell Chapman. ;)

    The good news is, this means most languages are hers if food is involved, so it's harder to mess up!

  2. Haha. That's totally my husband too. He loves cookies!!!

  3. Glad you figured it out! I think food should be included, too. It does bring people together and we all have our favorite to make us happy!!

  4. I think you should tell him...he can write another book! It's been a while since I read the Love Language book. I need to pick it up again.


Please, share your thoughts with me! I love to hear what readers think. Tell me what you enjoy, what you'd like to see, and what I can do for you. And don't forget to tell your friends about Uplifting Love.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...